Head Start of Rockland’s mission is to provide high quality early childhood education, health, nutrition and family services to low income children and families in Rockland County, while being responsive and sensitive to a variety of cultures, traditions and practices. We help children and their families reach their optimal potential.


It began in 1964 with Joan Bodger reading books to children in Nyack, attracting them with Tootsie Roll candy. Since then, Head Start of Rockland, Inc. has become the recognized leader in development and provision of preschool and early childhood education in Rockland County. Head Start has grown from one small school or program in Nyack to three direct run schools in Haverstraw, Nyack, and Spring Valley and several contract and delegate programs throughout the county. The agency is the grantee for federal funds earmarked for Head Start and Early Head Start in Rockland County.

Management Leadership

about_3Ouida Foster Toutebon, Executive Director
Joy Lefferts, Fiscal Director
Frances Rivera, Program Operations Director
Kerri McNamee, Human Resource Director
Kira Davenport, Nyack Head Start Director
Miriam Kahan, Spring Valley Head Start Director
Tanya Soto, Haverstraw Head Start Director
Tina Marie Ciccone, Fiscal Coordinator
Jennifer Gannon, Education Director
Erskine Grigsby, Family & Community Engagement Director
Mary Duran, Health & Nutrition Director
Tenisha Moore, Early Head Start Partnership Specialist

Board of Directors Officers and Members

about_4Tara Gales, President
C. Nicole Gladden Matthews, Esq., Vice President
Terri Evans, Treasurer
Marva Hawkins, Secretary
Maria Aybar
Shante George
Natalie Joseph